The seating of Reed Smoot – a review

March 1, 2008

Let me begin by saying it is not a comprehensive review because I am still reading several other books at present but let me at least give you some impressions.

1st – Kathleen Flake is a very entertaining writer.  Her style is not caught up in impressing you with her understanding of large academic words, to me that is a huge benefit.  She also does an excellent job of setting the scene and showing the challenge that both sides faced in this situation. Read the rest of this entry »


Voting when you do not know who to vote for

March 1, 2008

On Monday March 3rd my Province, Alberta, goes to the polls.  Our province has been very untypical with our voting patterns.

The province was founded in 1905.  Since that time only four parties have run the province and each lasted many years. Read the rest of this entry »


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.