Where did all the good Mormon movies go?

November 16, 2008

I would like to thank Jon for allowing me to scratch down a few thoughts every so often on the wild world of LDS film. I hope to fill this space with wonderment and glory… well actually just thoughts and ideas from a hack who has been following the LDS film business since his Bro-in-law filmed the “Singles Ward” and found out that he went on a mission with one of the writers of said movie.

So where did all the good movies go?  You know, the ones that inspired and challenged us. The ones that made us think. The ones where we knew exactly how the characters felt because we went through the same thing. The ones that surprised us at every turn.  hmmmmm… If you’re like me, you can’t think of one as well. Some have come close but, in my opinion, there hasn’t been that one film that has blown us away. The LDS church, I think, gets it. The Testaments movie is a perfect example. I know it has a singular purpose but it has most of the elements. Read the rest of this entry »


Welcoming a new contributor

November 16, 2008

It gives me great pleasure to introduce a new contributor to Banner, Sword, and Shield.  David Strong, from southern Alberta Canada.  David comes to our site with a background researching and participating in the Mormon movie industry.

Welcome aboard David.  Great to have you blogging along and I think we all are looking forward to your posts.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.