Ben Cahoon hates Sunday football

I am a huge NFL fan.  I long ago gave up on the CFL (Canadian Football League) as a league I can watch, this happened about the time the Edmonton Eskimos won their sixth Grey Cup championship in a row.  As much as loved the team I just could not handle it any more.  It was about that time that I began really cheering for the Los Angeles Rams.

As many Mormon players go from college to the NFL one rarely hears them interviewing say Steve Young about playing on Sunday.

Yet today as I opened up the National Post newspaper I found this article:

But perhaps nothing is of more distress to the veteran slotback than Sunday football. The Alouettes play the second of four Sunday home games tomorrow when they entertain the Winnipeg Blue Bombers at Molson Stadium.

Cahoon’s consternation has nothing to do with having caught only one pass in each of Montreal’s last two games. Cahoon’s a Mormon — one of a handful of players scattered throughout the Canadian Football League, including Alouettes’ offensive tackle Jeff Perrett — and believes Sunday should not only be a day of rest, but also a day of worship.

In the Canadian Football league most games happen on Friday, Saturday and rarely Sunday.  This is of course a self preservation manuover as the league does not want to face the NFL straight on for TV time normally.

Attempting to build on the Alouettes’ 8-2 record, while adding to his Hall of Fame statistics, means Cahoon won’t be able to attend services at the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Cahoon estimates he makes it to the Kirkland temple [italics added], located on Hymus Blvd., only about 50% of the time during the season. Indeed, when head coach Marc Trestman gives his players their monthly schedule, Cahoon immediately seeks the number of Sundays the team has off.

“Truth be told, that’s the thing I hate most about this job,” the 12-year veteran said during an interview this week. “Sunday is a special, sacred day. I don’t think you should work on Sunday, if you can prevent it. It should be a day of rest -a day which is different from every day of the week. I feel guilty when I don’t go to church and have to work. I justify it by saying it’s my job and I’m providing for my family.

“It should be a day you rest from the cares and worries of the world,” he continued. “I really enjoy attending church. It recharges my batteries and allows me to get refocused on the things important. And I enjoy the people. I need that.”

Now I am not sure what he means about the Kirtland temple reference, I think the reporter has messed up but still interesting to see how this is covered.

For me this is an amazing article as it is a rare time when our news media actually covers the church.  Usually we only make news when the polygamists are battling in court or another exposé comes out in the paper or in a book.  So to see such a complementary coverage was almost a mild shock for me.

3 Responses to Ben Cahoon hates Sunday football

  1. blissbait says:

    a ram once kissed me
    that’s my entire extent
    of football loving!

    Thank You and good luck with the whole Sunday and players thing. That was pretty sweet to read.

    May All Beings Be Happy.

  2. Mark B. says:

    It really shouldn’t have been that difficult–the writer talked about the “Kirkland [not Kirtland] temple” on Hymus Boulevard. It’s not unusual for writers to refer to our meetinghouses as “temples”, and a quick check of meetinghouses in the Montreal area on lds.org shows that the Kirkland Ward meets at a building on Rue Eaton, at the intersection with Boulevard Hymus.

  3. Jacquelyn says:

    This is the perfect web site for everyone who hopes to
    understand this topic. You know so much its
    almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally will need
    to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a subject that’s been written about for years. Great stuff, just excellent!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

