Hugh B. Brown an interesting life

I have been reading Hugh B. Brown’s memoirs (An Abundant Life) a very nice entertaining book.  I found myself very involved in the book as he talked about his early life and it just continued from there on.  His views on Priesthood leadership and on his mission were fascinating to read. 

I also found it interesting to note how much he loved Canada.   It made me very happy as a Canadian and I understood his fish out of water perspective of a Canadian in Utah.  I was wondering if anyone else has seen more books written about his life.  For someone who was such a piviotal figure in the church during the 1960s it would be interesting to learn more about him. 

 I also think it would be nice to get a more scholarly book about Ezra Taft Benson who was another bigger than life figure in that period.  Again I may just have missed them but something along the lines of Rough Stone Rolling or David O. McKay and the Rise of Modern Mormonism.

Personally I would like to see more expansion into the lives of men who may not be known well in our day but were teachers and leaders in their own right.

2 Responses to Hugh B. Brown an interesting life

  1. Justin says:

    I was wondering if anyone else has seen more books written about his life.

    The only book I am aware of is Eugene E. Campbell and Richard D. Poll, Hugh B. Brown: His Life and Thought (Salt Lake City: Bookcraft, 1975). The Summer 1988 issue of Dialogue also has a few articles on his life.

  2. Jon W says:

    Hmm I have Dialogues DVD of past issues so I might need to peruse that one a bit. One of the reasons I am interested in this topic is that i have been doing an essay on civil rights era and blacks in the priesthood and until I did that study I had never known hardly anything about Elder Brown.

Leave a Reply

