History professors let their hair down

So tonight our history club held a pot luck dinner.  Rather than going on the nitty gritty I found myself in real interesting position.  I was generally of the age group of the professors, most of whom are probably within a couple of years of my age yet I still felt more familiar with the students who were in elementary school the first time I was at University.

Most of my conversations with my former Roman history professor were revolving around our impressions of Europe.  Meanwhile with other students I found it easier to just talk about regular life.

This barrier was especially profound with my current US history Prof who does not seem to talk to me in that kind of event.  I am not sure if it was me or her that felt uncomfortable but considering I did a presentation in the afternoon she is grading maybe it was just as well.

One other note.  While applying for graduate school I have gone to my professor to talk about my statement of purpose.  During the conversation I bought up my dissertation ideas. 

My doctoral dissertation at present would focus on the role of immigrants of different religious traditions interacted in America. Specifically it would examine why smaller religious faiths, such as the Jews were ignored in the Early Republican period where Latter-day Saints (Mormons) were driven from various states.

Now keeping all of this in mind, was discussing this with my US history prof who thought that a Jew would be insulted by that.  My personal opinion is that it appears to be true.  I will be interested to see what my grad school to be says.

Leave a Reply

