New Books Arrive – reviews to follow

Well a week late but nonetheless Daddy has new books.  It is like Christmas morning for me!   The first one is called Before the Manefesto: The Life Writings of Mary Lois Walker Morris.

The second is The Politics of American Religious Identity: The Seating of Senator Reed Smoot Mormon Apostle.  Both of these books are to do with my new research essay on the Historiography of the end of Mormon Polygamy.

Here is one little snippet from the New York Times article dated May 20, 1877. 

NY Times Article May 20, 1877

So needless to say there is some interesting points of view.  As I find more information I will continue to put stuff on this site if you are interested.  As well as the usual commentary.

5 Responses to New Books Arrive – reviews to follow

  1. J. Stapley says:

    Both are nice volumes. Melissa Lambert Milewski’s volume is nice. I picked up an e-copy of her MA thesis (back before the book was published), which is nice for digital searches, but the book is preferable to read. Flake is great, and I was delighted to see Elder Oaks give it such glowing remarks.

    I’d be interested in a little more extensive explication of your essay.

  2. Jon W says:

    H Jonathan,

    The original argument i am examining is this:
    How did historians evaluate the end of the polygamy period and why is it seen as a watershed moment for Mormonism?

    This is where my starting point is.

    What going to focus on is the post 1880 relationship between Mormons and the US Government/ political groups. I have started reading Flake’s book and I am enjoying it already. I am going to focus specifically on three main primary source documentation.

    Periodicals
    1. New York Times from 1880 to 1906
    2. Woman’s Exponent
    3. Other magazines and Journals as I can find them

    Journals of a few LDS members
    1. Charles O. Card
    2. Rutger Clawson
    3. several others that I will probably browse

    US Government docs or speeches
    1. Our library has a few Journals of people like Grover Cleveland and the like. We also have access to some speeches made in the period through microfiche and some interlibrary loans.

    That is about all I am going to be able to read through by the time it is due at the beginning of April.

    I have been reading books written about the period, including journal articles that stretch from the 1950s to last year. So my hope is to have a good understanding of the issues and what the historiography is surrounding it.

    This paper is only 12-15 pages in length so I am probably over studying for it. But at the same time I have been trying to get an A (4.0) out of my Prof who has consistantly graded me at about a 3.0 on my essays I have written in the past.

    So my hope here is to knock this one out of the park. Not sure it will work but we will see.

  3. J. Stapley says:

    Interesting. If you haven’t already, you might check out Carmon Hardy’s recent documentary history (as well as his other writing). For periodicals, you might check out Cornell’s Making of America archive and google books.

    Good luck!

  4. Jon W says:

    Thanks I appreciate the assistance.

Leave a Reply

