Did Mark Hofmann kill New Mormon History?

I was in the midst of looking for some articles written by Michael Quinn when I noticed he had written an article on one of the Hofmann forgeries.  Because of this it got me to wondering, while writing my essay which has nothing to do with any of these topics.

Was the embarassment caused to the church through these forgeries what finished the downward spiral New Mormon History was in before this?  I say this having no proof but wondering if those who know more about the subject would contribute. 

My feeling is that many in the leadership would be suspicious of the historians that so readily accepted many of these, such as the Anthon script which was even imprinted on the early eighties gold book of Mormon.

As I said though, I am really looking for a general point of view because I have wondered if that was what tilted the balance against these histories in the minds of some of the leaders.

4 Responses to Did Mark Hofmann kill New Mormon History?

  1. Jon W says:

    And shortly after writing this I found this article,
    “The Truth Is the Most Important Thing”: The New Mormon History According to Mark Hofmann
    by Allen D. Roberts
    DIALOGUE: A JOURNAL OF MORMON THOUGHT, Vol. 20, No. 4, Winter 1987

    I think a very good write up of the whole fiasco. And I recommend reading it.

  2. Justin says:

    An article on this very subject was published in the Salt Lake Tribune a few years ago.

    A catalyst for change

  3. Jon W says:

    Very interesting evaluation. Thanks Justin. I would generally agree with Peggy that much damage to Mormon history was done to my Gen X fellows who feared Mormon History as a subject.

  4. larryco_ says:

    I was at the Sunstone Symposium that “heralded the discovery” of the salamander letter. Many speakers – I remember particularly Ron Walker and Jess Groesbeck – gave presentations that day. It seemed as though everyone was a personal friend of Hofmann.
    Things seemed to change at the symposium in the years that followed, particularly the dwindling of BYU professors who participated. It soon became apparent that Bitton’s “Camelot Years” had come to an end.

Leave a Reply

