Key to the Science of Theology

When I was on my mission, I spent a lot of time reading books during my study time and before bed.  One book I found in Hollister, California was Parley P. Pratt’s Key to the Science of Theology. The book itself was a reprint from 1910 I think, it was old but I was fascinated.  Pratt to my mind at the time explained a higher relationship with God in a way that was very clear.   

About four years ago I found a reprint of an 1891 edition, which was in the book store in Cardston.

So to give you an idea of the way he talks in this let me give you an excerpt:

This is life Eternal: To know the only True and Living God and Jesus Christ whom he has sent.  
Since the decline of the science of Theology a mystery, dark and deep, has shrouded the human mind, in regard to the person and nature of the Eternal Father, and of Jesus Christ, His Son.

  Councils of the fathers, and wise men of Christendom, having assembled again and again, in order to solved the mystery of Godliness, and fix some standard or creed upon which all parties might rest and be agreed.

  This, however, was not in their power.  It is impossible for the world by its wisdon to find out God. “Neither knoweth any man the Father, save the Son, and he to whomsoever the Son with reveal Him.”

  The key to the science of Theology is the key of devine revelation.  Without this key, no man, no assemblage of men, ever did, or ever will know the Eternal Father or Jesus Christ.

  When the key of revelation was lost to man, the knowledge of God was lost.  And as life eternal depended on the knowledge of God, of course the key of eternal life was lost.1

 While some of the senitments are either out there or simply out dated I still think of this book as one of those higher thinking books that spun me into considering further things beyond just what I shakely knew.  It allowed me to expand my understanding of the world because it showed me that others had done the same.


1. Parley P. Pratt, The Key to the Science of Theology, reprint 1891 (Grantsville, UT: Archive Publishers) 2000,  26-27.

3 Responses to Key to the Science of Theology

  1. David G. says:

    The first edition has been digitized and made available online by the BYU library. There were significant revisions made around the turn of the century to make the work consistent with the emerging “standardized” doctrine of the Holy Ghost, which Pratt had described as a fluid that filled the universe.

  2. Jon W says:

    ah right thanks David, I was wondering about that.

  3. David G. says:

    Tom Alexander summarizes the changes in Mormonism in Transition.

Leave a Reply

