Mormon Masculine Househusband

So my wife is up for an interview tomorrow, if she gets the job I will probably be the househuband until summer.  It is an interesting possiblity and one which I am excited for her.  It is to be a temporary Educational Assistant working in an elementary school.

Since the job starts Monday we should know PDQ whether she is going to get it or not.  I am hopeful she will as would be a perfect position for her with her training as a Speech Pathologist Assistant and would give her some valuable experience.

For me I like the opportunity to be a stay at home dad.  I have two preschoolers at home right now and it would allow me to continue to build a relationship with them before heading into another year of heavy schooling in the fall (ITMC)1.

Here’s hoping.


1. ITMC = if the money comes 

10 Responses to Mormon Masculine Househusband

  1. Jon W says:

    Masculine (because of course there are no real Masculinists) in the loosest sense of the word btw… my wife in fact called me a geek when the only thing I found exciting in a brand new garage, with all new tools, was the BBQ.

    I am a computer nerd through and through…
    HDTV now THATS exciting. Terabyte of Hard Drive, I am excited, screwdrivers, not so much.

  2. Jon W says:

    and no that was not my garage, it was on a TV show we watched tonight.

  3. Erin says:

    I hope that works out for you guys. When DH and I got married, I was holding down the big job, and he was the househusband. Let me tell you, nothing makes a newlywed swoon like her husband pulling a homemade pie out of the oven when she walks in the door from work! It was a really fun time for us, so I hope you get that opportunity.

  4. Jon W says:

    Yeah we did that for a while too. She had to admit the other day that I am still the one who does the cooking most… 😉

    I personally think it will be fun.

  5. Jon W says:

    Yeah we did that for a while too. She had to admit the other day that I am still the one who does the cooking most… 😉

    I personally think it will be fun.

  6. Apollo says:

    I wish my wife could be the breadwinner in our household. I’d love to stay home with the kiddos and clean the house, eat Doritos, work out at the gym every day (child care center there), play chess at FICS, take the kids to the park every day, go to story time at the library, watch Law & Order, cook, garden, yadda, yadda, yadda. It would be great.

    Sometimes I think I’d be better at it than her.

  7. Jon W says:

    Yeah my dream got crushed, it was thanks for coming out but the school went another direction apparently. Sigh.

  8. Mer Pints says:

    A masculine man for a stable family…

  9. E says:

    So, you’d be a househusband until summer? Does that mean about a month? Sorry, but I think a month is not enough time for you to really gain any cred.

  10. Jon W says:

    Well that WAS the plan until the end of June… so nearly two months as she would have started today. But of course she did not get it.

    So I think at this stage it is moot.

Leave a Reply

