I heart Mormons

May 8, 2008

So while searching for Christ and the World of the New Testament: An Illustrated Reference for Latter-day Saints on Amazon.com I was interested to learn that they did not have it but instead was pointed to, among other things this book, I Love Mormons: A New Way to Share Christ with Latter-day Saints by David L. Rowe. 

I was curious enough to read an excerpt, mostly because I knew what was coming but wanted to see what the package was. It was an attractive package as the first few pages go, funny chapter headings like “Learning to speak Mormonese,” but in the end it is just a new wine in old bottles.  Mormons are doctrinally evil, but the people aren’t, so nicely get them to apostatize. 
Read the rest of this entry »

The death of Joe Smith

May 8, 2008

So I am still reading David A. Copeland’s The Antebellum Era: Primary Documents on Events from 1820 to 1860 I found this account of the death of Joseph Smith from the Jonesborough Whig and Independent Journal.  It was a fascinating look into the minds of people who have made a decision about Mormonism.  In it one can hear some of the more modern voices who seem to speak not too differently. Read the rest of this entry »