Getting to know the young George Q. Cannon

I was in our local church book store and picked up a remarkable volume called The Journals of George Q. Cannon: Volume I To California in ’49 I found it on a discount shelf and promptly picked it up when I had a look at it.  It is his trek to California by a southern root.  The book was edited by Michael N. Landon and the “series” is edited by Richard E. Turley jr. and Adrian W. Cannon. 

I only picked this up recently so I cannot give it a review but it is interesting to note that it was in collaboration with the Church History department.  I have to admit I am becoming concerned about these edited journals because I always hate finding out bits were left out.  The last thing I want to find out is that the editor had merged, or eliminated parts because it did not fit their particular bent. 

This is when only reprints of original documents are so invaluable, hopefully less filtered.

Even with that reservation expressed I look forward to reading it and becoming better aquainted with this influencial leader of the church and member of the First Presidency. 

3 Responses to Getting to know the young George Q. Cannon

  1. J. Stapley says:

    Volume II of the series was due out years ago, but all the folk that were working on the diaries got pulled to work on the MMM volume. It is my understanding that future volumes will be published with the Church Historians Press.

  2. Jon W says:

    oh good to hear I would love to read more of it.

  3. Justin says:

    The first volume is a nice book to have (and read), and Landon has provided some excellent supplemental material to flesh out the rather brief trail journal.

    I simply wish the rate of publication for the other volumes would pick up a bit.

Leave a Reply

