Language legacies – what the Depression has given me

My parents grew up in the 1930s.   Because of this they were heavily influenced as children on radio programs and in their community around the language they speak.

For example: My Aunt constantly calls the washing machine the “wErsher”.

For my parents it is phrases which come out from me at various times which leaves my wife looking at me like a lunatic.  One of the more famous incidents in our marriage we were discussing something she liked and I said, “Well that is your cup of tea.”

This apparently was a phrase she had never heard of before.  Now I know it is fairly common phrase so I was a bit confused.  So after explaining it she says, “Oh, you mean like, ‘Its your bag of oats'”.  Now it was my turn to be dumbfounded.

Other phrases I have used have racial connotations which at my younger age I never would have picked up, “Cotton Pick’in” referring to Blacks.

Or a lot of phrases which are innocous in nature such as:

“Busier than a one armed paper hanger.”

I am sure there are others but these are ones which I know were unfamiliar to others.  Anyway that is all for now.  I might add more if I remember them.

Leave a Reply

