B-day for the Banner

One year ago today I started this blog.

On November 5, 2007 I started this blog with the words, “[Banner, Sword, and Shield is] [t]aken from a line in A Royal Army I have decided to post some LDS Church related thoughts and hopefully scare up opinions from you, the readers of this newest edition of the bloggernacle.”

Even though I started the blog then, it took some time to get going on posting regularly, my first real post coming November 24, Hugh B. Brown: an interesting life.

I thought I would post some of my favourite blog posts here, and hopefully see what you, the readers think.

1.Modern LDS views on Plural Marriage This was my most controversial article, apparently some were surprised that my wife thought Polygamy was not as bad portrayed, and that she would not mind it that much depending on the circumstances. (my mother recently expressed similar feelings shockingly)

2.  Archeology and History not always good bedfellows See even secular sources and Archeology can confuse people.

3. Did Mark Hofmann kill New Mormon History? A post about the Salamander man and how his forgeries damaged research in Mormon History.

4.Expounding on the martyrdom qualifications of those at Haun’s Mill From the debate started at Times and Seasons I felt the needed to add my own perspective

5. Sephir Zohar and Joseph Smith From November 2007 I related my curiousity of the subject of Jewish mystics and Joseph Smith.

Btw

This is the list of the top five read blog posts.

1. Lee’s Creek Tonight!
2. Setting the Record Straight – Mormons and Polygamy
3. The joy found in cleaning the church
4. Modern LDS views on Plural Marriage
5. Exile an option 1857
7 Responses to B-day for the Banner

  1. Jon W says:

    Thanks, I know not very original but still a milestone.

  2. Christopher says:

    Congrats! Keep up the good work, Jon.

  3. David G. says:

    Great work, Jon. Keep it up.

  4. Jared T. says:

    Happy Birthday!

  5. Jon W says:

    Thanks everyone. I hope the next one is even better.

  6. Edje says:

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

