The querks of family history

So lately, having not that much to do and lots of time on my hands.  So to keep myself occupied I have been working a bit on Family History.

In fact I would suggest anyone starting out would be well advised to read Ardis’ work which was a very good primer for those who are struggling with the basics.

Family History Basics – Lesson 1 (First steps)
Family History Basics – Lesson 2 (Home sources)
Family History Basics – Lesson 3 (Social Security)
Family History Basics – Lesson 4 (Census)

For those of us in an intermediate or advanced mode of research I have a small question.  Do you find yourself hitting a wall when you ancestor heads overseas?

My family is Welsh on one side since my Grandfather and Grandmother.  On the other, they were long in Canada and the USA, which makes it way easier to trace them.  Then most go to England.  In fact I have only one very small branch that goes away from Britain or Ireland.  (And they were Dutch)   As I said to someone recently the most exotic my family surnames get until modern history is Bogart (originally De Bogaert).

So with all that, with everything so close.  I have run into one common denominator.  The farthest back I have ever got a line in Britian is 1774.   Meanwhile I can trace one family line in the USA back to 1722, and a father who was probably born no later than 1700 near New Jersey.

So with all of that, here is my question.  Does any one else find it difficult to get past the 1700s with their British ancestors?  I think part of the reason  is due to the recording methods, the first British census is not until 1841, the marriage, birth, and death indexes are mostly contained in parish records which were kept in a fashion which I found to be very difficult to follow before 1800.

So what suggestions would you give me in this case.

One Response to The querks of family history

  1. BruceC says:

    Yes, my brief adventure in British research was mostly a failure. After looking for two years I gave up. My aunt had meanwhile hired a professional to work on that very line and he (though I do not the person’s sex) found several generations. The skills used are apparently different. So I focus on fleshing out the scant details of my North American ancestry. Plenty to do there.

Leave a Reply

