Meteor Update 4 – They found some of it

This is a part of the 10 ton meteor that hurtled to earth last week. Apparently according to the Edmonton Journal only some relatively small fragments of the Meteor has been found.

you can see the video of the meteor stuck in some ice on a pond here.

For some of you the geography is going to be unfamiliar so let me add this bit of info to give you some idea. The red star is roughly where the meteor bits landed.  Edmonton to the left is where I live.  It is about 7.5 hours north of the US border by car.

From Salt Lake to Edmonton takes about 18 hours by car driving reasonable speed (under 70 miles an hour).

lloydminster

4 Responses to Meteor Update 4 – They found some of it

  1. Nick Literski says:

    Any idea how they know this was from the meteorite? I’m not disputing it, mind you, but I’m curious how they determine such a thing. I’d have thought that a piece of super-heated space rock would melt it’s way through ice when it landed, but maybe not.

  2. Jon W says:

    At a guess Nick i would say it would be from how they appear, looking smooth on the most part with a jagged edge from where it exploded. As to why it did not go through the ice, that is is good question.

    Is their a scientist in the house.

  3. cathy says:

    Why is it so difficult to find info on the second meteor sighting on Tuesday? I think I saw it, but I live so far south I’m not sure. I’m not seeing any other reports on sightings as far south as I am, only vague references to sightings in the northern US. I want to report what I saw! It matches the few descriptions I did find (size, path, speed, duration, location.) I had commented to someone that I had seen a flaming “shooting star” with a tail at around that time in the northwest sky, which roughly places it over northwest Canada in relation to me. I’ve been told we have a good viewing area (somewhat rural so low light pollution, 1100 feet elevation.) I’ve seen the aurora borealis five times in the 18+ years I’ve lived here which is also unusual for this far south (including the huge display a couple of years ago — searched online about that, too. Scary at first, but fantastic! And I heard the hissing!) One bonus to being a night owl that takes an occasional cigarette break outdoors, anyway! I just want to get/contribute info! Can anyone hook me up?!

  4. Jon W says:

    I am not sure Cathy, this one was reported as being seen from as far south as Medicine Hat Alberta, which is about 1.5 hour from the US (Montana) border. Otherwise I would be interested in seeing those reports if you find some.

Leave a Reply

