A costume tip for next year…

October 31, 2008

While trolling around the Utah Digital Newspapers I found this gem, from the Carbon County News (1914).
Read the rest of this entry »


Wasn’t that Scaaaaarry

October 31, 2008

Honestly, Halloween and Count Floyd, they were made for each other…


Public broadcasters a comparison

October 31, 2008

I have been thinking today about a political, cultural issue.  This is the funding of public broadcasters.  Having lived in the US, Canada and UK, I was curious to do a comparison of the funding, mostly because I thought that Canada’s CBC received a great deal of more funding then they should.

In the USA the Public Broadcast System is funded in part by federal/state funds, corporate donations and subscribers (members) from the general public.  Some of these stations even receive funding from Canada, my parents have been members of KSPS out of Spokane for a few years. Read the rest of this entry »