Getting to know the young George Q. Cannon

June 5, 2008

I was in our local church book store and picked up a remarkable volume called The Journals of George Q. Cannon: Volume I To California in ’49 I found it on a discount shelf and promptly picked it up when I had a look at it.  It is his trek to California by a southern root.  The book was edited by Michael N. Landon and the “series” is edited by Richard E. Turley jr. and Adrian W. Cannon. 
Read the rest of this entry »


Priesthood revelation – from my personal files

June 5, 2008

So as I said yesterday I was going to continue to publish files from the Priesthood revelation as we come close to the anniversary.  This article is from the Galveston Texas Daily News.  This article is dated July 13 so over a month after the announcement but I think these are being found in the religious section of these papers. 

This article, once again from a journalist, non-Mormon, point of view recounts the ban and the history of it.  I think it is interesting to see their take on it.  So here is the article from United Press International (UPI):
Read the rest of this entry »